Friday, May 29, 2009

Japan abstained in UNHRC vote

(DM)In our lead news story yesterday titled “Sri Lanka wins at the UNHRC” we had inadvertently mentioned that Japan had voted against the resolution co-sponsored by Sri Lanka at the United Nation Human Rights Council. It had been brought to our notice that Japan abstained from voting.

The countries that voted for the resolution were India, Pakistan, Russia, China, Malaysia, Angola, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bolivia, Brazil, Bukinafaso, Cameron, Cuba, Djibouti, Egypt, Ghana, Indonesia, Jordan, Madagascar, Nicaragua, the Philippines, Uruguay, Zambia, Qatar, South Africa, , Senegal, Saudi Arabia and Nigeria. Full text